Oakland and state laws about owning dogs
1. Dog license (O.M.C. 6.04.030 and F.A.C. 30501)
All dogs (four months or older) must be registered and licensed and must wear a current license tag at all times. All dogs must be vaccinated against rabies before a license may be issued. Discounts are given for dogs that are spayed/neutered. See how to license your dog in Oakland.
2. Microchipping (O.M.C. 6.04.050)
All dogs (four months or older) must be microchipped and this microchip number must be registered with Oakland Animal Services. Dogs can be microchipped at Oakland Animal Services.
3. Three dog limit (O.M.C. 6.04.050)
It is unlawful to have more than three dogs to a household (unless all dogs had current licenses on January 1, 2006 and have maintained current licenses).
4. Leash required (O.M.C. 6.04.070)
Dogs are not permitted to run at large. They must be kept confined to an owner’s home/yard or under control of a leash (not over six feet in length) at all times.
5. Barking dogs (O.M.C. 8.18.010)
It is against the law to allow any animal to disturb the peace and comfort of others.
6. Humane and sanitary care (O.M.C. 6.04.300, Cal Pen Code 597f)
Dogs must have appropriate food, water and shelter. Animal quarters must be kept clean, sanitary and secure. Dogs must receive proper care and attention.
7. Dangerous dogs (O.M.C. 6.08, F.A.C. 31601 et seq)
It is unlawful to keep a dog that creates a significant risk of injury to life of property. Owners that are determined to have dogs that are potentially dangerous or dangerous must abide by requirements to continue to keep their dog(s).
8. Chaining or tethering dogs (H.S.C. 122335)
In California, it is illegal to tether, fasten, chain, tie, or restrain a dog to a stationary object, such as a dog house, tree or fence, unless the dog’s guardian is nearby and performing a temporary task. Dogs on a running line, pulley or trolley system cannot be attached to it with a choke collar or pinch collar.
9. Dog fighting (Cal Pen Code 597.5)
In California, it is a felony to own, possess, keep, or train any dog to fight with another dog, or to cause dogs to fight for the purpose of amusement or gain. It is a misdemeanor to be a spectator at such an event.
10. Dogs in hot cars (Cal Pen Code 597.7)
In California, it is illegal to keep a dog in an unattended motor vehicle under conditions that endanger the health or well-being of an animal due to heat, cold, lack of adequate ventilation, or lack of food or water, or other circumstances that could reasonably be expected to cause suffering, disability, or death to the animal.
11. Dog bites (Cal Pen Code 398, F.A.C 31601 et seq, O.M.C. 6.08 )
If a dog bites a person, the dog’s owner must provide the person who was bitten with his or her name, address, telephone number, and the name and license tag number of the dog within 48 hours. The dog’s owner, within 48 hours of the bite, must provide the other person with information regarding the status of the animal’s vaccinations. Also see this page on animal bites.
State of California – Animal Related Laws